State Fund Accounting Course Information

WHAT:

A course designed to provide the state’s fiscal staff with a better understanding of the state’s fiscal system and accounting process.

WHO:

Accounting office personnel at Accountant I level or above who meet the education criteria. 

EDUCATION PREREQUISITES:

A minimum of 12 semester units of accounting course work is required of all applicants.  Neither work experience nor a bachelor degree is accepted in lieu of the minimum unit requirements. For purposes of State Fund Accounting Course, Business Law is not considered accounting course work.

WHERE:

Department of Finance - Cedar Room
915 L Street, Main Level, Sacramento, California

WHEN:

Session

Class Held

Dates

501

502

503

504

Wednesdays 8:00 - 12:00

Thursdays 8:00 - 12:00

Wednesdays 8:00 - 12:00

Thursdays 8:00 - 12:00

January 3  – April 18, 2018

January 4  – April 19, 2018

August 29  – December 12, 2018

August 30  – December 13, 2018

METHODOLOGY:

Students receive textbooks and topical modules and are expected to complete in-class and take-home assignments.  In addition to the Department of Finance instructor, guest speakers from various agencies will enhance the course by sharing their expertise in specific areas.

COST:

$625 per participant (includes materials).  Full payment must be submitted at the first class.  We do not accept Cal Card and do not invoice departments for payment.

APPLICATION:

Completed State Fund Accounting Course applications may be submitted via the training registration system. Incomplete applications will not be accepted. Click here to enroll.

ENROLLMENT:

Enrollment is granted on a first-come-first-served basis.  Once enrollment status is complete, a waiting list will be established. Enrollment is limited to five students per department.

CONFIRMATION:

An email confirmation will be sent after successful registration. Formal confirmation letters are mailed to the applicants 2 - 3 weeks before the session begins. 

CANCELLATION POLICY:

Withdrawals are permitted up to one week before a session begins.  Departments may substitute participants; however, once a session begins, refunds are not permitted if a person withdraws or does not complete the class.

SUBSTITUTION:

Substitutions are permitted up to one week before a session begins if the substituting participant meets the minimum prerequisites.  The substitute must submit an application and be pre-approved. E-mail SFAC@dof.ca.gov for substitutions.

WAITING LIST:

A waiting list will be established to back fill any cancellations.  The waiting list will not be used to fill subsequent sessions. 

CONTACTS: 

SFAC@dof.ca.gov
Theresa Rawlins, Instructor
(916) 445-3434 Ext. 2167 
Department of Finance, Fiscal Systems and Consulting Unit
915 L Street, Sacramento, California 95814 (IMMS A-15)

Top